Life Within

"Marta Capponi is one of the brightest lights currently shinning on the jazz stage"

Jeff Prestridge 

Vocalist and composer Marta Capponi releases Life Within, her first album under her own name. The album features the top rhythm section of guitarist Jo Caleb, pianist and Hammond organist Ross Stanley, double bassist Dario di Lecce and drummer Emiliano Caroselli. Life Within offers 8 fresh arrangements of jazz standards and one new original composition by Capponi and Caroselli, Summer Lullaby, which they dedicated to their soon-to-be-born baby.


The album title, Life Within, is connected to the fact that Capponi was expecting her first child during the production of the album. Motherhood gave her the motivation to finally record this project that had been in the back of her mind for a few years. The album had to be a selection of jazz standards: songs that Capponi had cherished for years and that became even more meaningful due to her pregnancy.


The music in Life Within is inspired by jazz from the 50’s, with the characteristic sound of the Hammond organ and guitar leading the rhythm section, creating beautiful harmonic landscapes for Capponi’s vocals. Instrumental and vocal improvisation is one of the key elements of this album with Capponi mixing her velvety tones with more strident sounds to deliver melodies and scat solos that create an exciting interaction with the band.


The inspiration behind the sound of Life Within comes from legendary jazz musicians and vocalists such as Nancy Wilson, Sarah Vaughan, Dinah Washington, Carmen McRae, Billie Holiday, Mingus, Ellington, Wes Montgomery and Jimmy Smith. Also noticeable in Capponi’s improvisation is the influence of some of the greatest modern jazz vocalists Mark Murphy, Kurt Elling and Dianne Reeves.

Screenshot 2020-05-04 at 14.31.06.png

Release date: TBC

Marta Capponi - vocals,compositions & arrangements

Jo Caleb - guitar & arrangements

Ross Stanley - Hammond organ & piano

Dario di Lecce - double bass

Emiliano Caroselli - drums


  1. East of the sun x:xx

  2. Save your love for me x:xx

  3. Honeysuckle rose x:xx

  4. I’ll be seeing you x:xx

  5. September in the rain x:xx

  6. Summer lullaby x:xx

  7. Nature boy x:xx

  8. The nearness of you x:xx

  9. Bye bye blackbird x:xx

Total XX minutes


Marta Capponi (voice, compositions X, lyrics X), Jo Caleb (guitar), Ross Stanley (Hammond organ and piano), Dario di Lecce (double bass), Emiliano Caroselli (drums). 

Recorded at The Fish Factory, London (UK) in May 2019. 

Mixed by Jo Calem and mastered by Technology Works. London

Album cover photography by Cesar Vasquez Altamirano. Artwork and design by IAIA.